IAANI Awards: Call for Nominations (2021)

The International Association of Autoethnography and Narrative Inquiry (IAANI) invites nominations for the following awards to be given at the 2021 International Symposium of Autoethnography and Narrative (January 1-4, 2021).

This year, nominations will be accepted for awards in the categories of:
• Best Journal Article or Book Chapter Award
• Early Career Award
• Bochner and Ellis Resonance Award

These three awards are given every other year (e.g., 2021, 2023, 2025). Next year, IAANI will solicit nominations for three different awards—Best Book, Best Dissertation, Best Aural/Visual/Performance—that will be given alternate years (e.g., 2022, 2024, 2026).

A review committee will determine award recipients. Recipients will receive an award certificate and public recognition at the ISAN Symposium.  Submissions for all awards are due AUGUST 15, 2020.

You must have a gmail account to submit all nomination files. If you do not have a gmail account, please a) create one to upload nomination files or b) ask someone with a gmail to account to submit the nomination.


Nominations for this award must be for works published in the two calendar years (2019-2020) prior to the year of the conference at which the award will be given. Publication date will be determined by the date on the final published work (i.e., not the date on an “online first” publication).

Criteria for review for this award:
• Originality
• Creativity
• Accessible and well-crafted evocative and analytical writing
• Engagement with lived experience, such as emotion, subjectivity, and the body
• Significance of contribution to the field and/or to social justice

To be considered for this award, you must submit a PDF of the nominated work. Self-nominations are accepted for this award. A person can only submit one published work for consideration.


This award is designed to recognize scholars who have a demonstrated record of using autoethnography and narrative in exemplary and promising ways. Eligible nominees include anyone who has completed a terminal degree (e.g., MFA, PhD, EdD) during the five years prior to the year the award is given. Thus, those receiving their degree between 2016-2020 are eligible for the award given in 2021.

To be considered, all nominations must include:
• Primary letter of nomination detailing the nominee’s qualifications, with specific explanation of how this person has contributed to autoethnography and narrative
• Current curriculum vitae for the nominee
• One representative sample, published or unpublished, of the nominee’s scholarly work

Please submit all nomination materials at one time. Self-nominations are NOT accepted for this award.


This award is given for a work (book, article, book chapter, staged performance, art installation) demonstrating excellence in autoethnography and narrative that has stood the test of time. The work could be considered a “classic” text that has served as a stimulus for novel approaches to and understandings of autoethnography and narrative. For this award, nominated works should be at least five years old (published/created in, or earlier than, 2015).

To be considered, all nominations must include:
• Primary letter of nomination describing this work’s significant contribution to autoethnography and narrative;
• PDF or other online representation of the nominated work. If a book is nominated and a PDF of the book is not available, please contact Tony Adams (tony.e.adams@gmail.com) for instructions about mailing hard copies of the book to members of the review committee.

Self-nominations are NOT accepted for this award.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

Click here to submit a nomination for any of these awards. (You must have a gmail account to submit nomination files.)